The highly successful, inaugural Conference on Electrochemical Energy Science and Technology (EEST2014) was held from October 31st to November 3rd, 2014 at Donghua University in Shanghai. Over 190 attendees from 16 different countries heard speeches by world renowned researchers on the current state of the art in their respective areas of expertise.

Organized by the International Academy of Electrochemical Energy Science (IAOEES), the conference technical streams included: Fuel Cells; Batteries/Supercapacitors; Electrolysis/Hydrogen and Electrochemistry Fundamentals. Plenary speeches for each of these themes were provided by: Dr. Claude Lamy (CNRS Institute of Chemistry, France), Dr. Huiming Cheng (Chinese Academy of Sciences, China), Dr. Yongfang Li (Chinese Academy of Sciences, China), Dr. Hubert Gasteiger (Technische Universitat Munchen, Germany), and Dr. Piotr Zelenay (Los Alamos National Lab, USA).

In addition to the plenary addresses over 100 keynote speeches, invited talks and oral presentations were delivered throughout the three day conference. Sixty-nine(69) posters were also on display. The extremely high quality of all conference speeches resulted in both Electrochemica Acta and the International Journal of Hydrogen Energy issuing a call for papers to be published in special post conference issues of their respective journals.

Two major outcomes of EEST2014 are: 1) an emerging global network of researchers in the electrochemical energy science and technology sector; and 2) confirmation of the IAOEES Board members’ belief in the vital role to be played by these researchers in contributing to solutions to the world’s major challenges related to green house gas emissions and climate change.

The next IAOEES conference (EEST2015) is scheduled to take place from Aug. 16-22 in Vancouver, BC, Canada with Dr. David Wilkinson of the University of British Columbia (UBC) as the conference chair.